Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend

glass-slipper-challenge-2017

“One and done!” I remember my sister uttered those exact words when she finished her first marathon in January. Pretty much how I felt by the time I finished the Glass Slipper Challenge on Sunday. For those who may not know, the Glass Slipper Challenge consists of a 10K on Saturday, followed by a half marathon on Sunday. I must say I fought signing up for the Glass Slipper Challenge for several years, happily instead, running a 5K on Friday and the half on Sunday, but for some reason I was feeling Iron Woman-ish and decided that this was the year…this was MY year!

A couple of things I have learned in just two short weeks:

1.       (Yes, there will be more than one). If I spend the entire week before the challenge walking an extraordinary amount, my legs WILL actually be tired after the 10K and be too tired for a half marathon the following day. In other words, roaming the  parks probably wasn’t the best idea.

2.       Don’t stop hydrating after the 10K, replacing those fluids lost during a hot 6.2 miles is doubly important. Remember the challenge isn’t over until after the half.

3.       Go easy on the 10K and save some “leg juice” for the half. I was so concerned because I was starting in the last corral of the 10K and not being swept after the balloon ladies, I exerted myself more than I probably should have. I should have saved some of that leg juice energy for the half.

4.       Bring the necessary amount of electrolyte replacements. I was good this time and made sure that I drank something at each water stop, but I ran out of salt tablets, gummy bears and pickle juice by mile ten. I made it all the way, but when I tried to put on a burst of energy to triumphantly race cross the finish line, the dreaded leg cramps set in. So my finish was more of a limp than the Iron Woman moment I envisioned.

5.       Most importantly, have fun. 19.3 miles in two days truly IS an accomplishment and something to be proud of. I finished!

6.       Never say never! My “one and done” mantra, lasted about seven days and I’ve already texted my sisters that I am ready for next year’s challenge. Sore muscles and pain are only temporary, bling is forever.

This year my plan is to not take a three month running hiatus! Training starts today.

be-fearless

Leave a Reply

