Something New Added to Running

Shaun T.png

 

I had almost decided to pay the $60 for a 30-day gym membership.  The gym is literally steps from my office… out the front door, walk across the sidewalk, boom – there. I thought it would be so convenient during my lunch. I could run across the sidewalk, jump on the treadmill, shower and hop back into my office during my lunch. I also figured I could take some Zumba and Yoga classes at night and on weekends. All of this as opposed to driving the 1.5 miles to the employee gym and going into the basement of the government building, running on the treadmill and just lifting weights.

I decided to do something different. Yes I did. I bought the Shaun T Cize DVDs.  I ordered it about 9 days ago and it came today in the mail. Exciting!!! Cize teaches you to dance so you actually forget it’s exercise. Of course I read a lot of the reviews first. Some of the reviews were negative. They didn’t like the fact that he spent the first 20 minutes of a 30 minute DVD teaching each of the dance steps and repeatedly starting back from the top. I actually liked the fact that he would teach you a step, then start back at step one and take you through what you just learned. I learned eight new steps and at the end, he took you, fast-paced, from the beginning step to step eight – three times.  Then they changed the song (he said we would recognize it, but I really didn’t) and you did the routine two more times (he said it was three, but I only counted twice).  Needless to say, by the end of the 30 minutes, I was a sweaty mess.   The fact that I went to the gym and finished three miles on the treadmill first, made working out to the DVD that much more intense. My original plan was to just watch the DVD tonight and start tomorrow, but I was way too excited and just decided to go for it. 

Now tonight, I took a shower, took an aspirin, rubbed on some Biofreeze and I’m going to bed, knowing that today I killed it!

Leave a Reply

