2015 Running Review

2015 pic.png

What a year it has been! It’s funny…sometimes it feels like I’ve come such a long way and other times it feels like I should be further along than I am.  I do, however, remember back in 2013 when I could barely run a few steps and look at me now – two half marathons later! Who knew?

Greatest accomplishment: Finishing the Disney Princess Half Marathon two steps ahead of the balloon ladies. Well, perhaps more than two steps, but considering I was in the second to the last corral and made two unplanned stops along the way. I even managed to shave about six minutes off the previous year when I didn’t stop. I think the net effect was a much better race! Shorter time, half the pain!

Second greatest accomplishment: The MCM10K. I smile every time I look at that bib and medal. Not sure why, but it gives me the warm and fuzzies. It just feels like a huge accomplishment … it could be because it was my first run in the rain or, most importantly, that hill near the end of the race.

Proudest race: (I had to call it something other than an accomplishment) The Across the Bay 10K. Why?  The first 1.7 miles was uphill. Need I say more?

Biggest (EPIC) fail: Psyching myself out of completing the Clarendon 10K. The walk of shame back up the hill was more painful, I’m sure, than had I went ahead and finished the downhill race (it took just as long to get back to the top). Oh well, live and learn.  This might be a redemption race for me in 2016.

Biggest improvement: I completed one 10K in 2014. In 2015, I completed four 10k’s. Two races and two training runs! Now THAT is the way to end the year! Bring on 2016!

2 thoughts on “2015 Running Review

Leave a Reply

