Could Not Resist the Run

Garmin

Two days ago my cold kicked into full-blown flu-like symptoms…sneezing, congestion…etc.., but I bought my first Garmin yesterday as a reward for finishing the MCM10K. (Now is not the time to ask why I was out shopping when I was obviously sick, but errands could not wait and since I was out anyway….) Anyway, I didn’t reward myself because of a single race, but this one was challenging for me and not to mention the fact that I had an epic failure of a race last month. I had actually promised myself this particular reward after the Disney Princess Half back in February, but I never purchased it. Well yesterday, gosh darn it, I bought it. The only problem is running should not have been on my list of “to-do’s” considering I’m a mouth breather today, but I wanted to run. I HAD to run today. Granted I only took my new toy on a 1.76 jog/walk. I’m not even sure why I picked the hilliest street I could find, but I did.

What do I miss about using my IPod/Nike App for running? Absolutely NOTHING!!! I love being able to just look at my wrist and not having to push buttons to hear my stats and accidently shutting off the IPod while running which I did a half-mile from the end of the race last weekend! Has this ever happened to anyone or am I alone on this one?

The most important reasons for getting out there today, besides my new toy, is the upcoming 401K race on Saturday and the Across the Bay 10K on Sunday. I’m definitely looking forward to my races with my newest toy, but for today…even though I know I should have stayed home to get rid of this cold, I couldn’t resist the run. For now, however, I’m going to take my running glow and nurse it with tea, honey and lemon.

3 thoughts on “Could Not Resist the Run

  1. I find having a GPS watch is so much easier than running with an iPod, and trying out new gadgets can be a great motivator to get out and run too.
    I hope you’re feeling better and that your cold is clearing up – sometimes a bit of fresh air is just the job for putting a cold in its place, as long as it’s followed by feet up and hot drinks of course. 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks! The Garmin was pretty fun to use and much easier than I thought it would be. I didn’t think I’d get hooked that quickly! I thought I would run them together for awhile, but didn’t. I can’t wait until tomorrow, though my cold is saying otherwise, but I did feel a bit better with the fresh air mind over matter…LOL), though the uphills were hard to do today. I don’t think I had really thought about how hilly that street was. As prescribed feet are up, sinus tea is at the ready…just waiting for my fav show. Have an awesome evening!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

