Fresh Running Motivation

Since dropping out of the race this past weekend, I’ve done some serious soul-searching on my commitment to this whole “running thing.” From a woman in her mid-50’s that went from a high school athlete, to an adult couch-potato, to starting to run in her 50’s (early 50’s…LOL), I know this is something I really want to do (though I actually love walking more…LOL). I enjoy it. I have to get the negative thoughts out of my head and realize that being in the back of the pack is OK as long as I can make the cut-off. In fact, I’m considering signing up again for a race I ran last year. (Keep in mind that I use the term “run” loosely, it’s more of the run/walk method). It was another race I almost talked myself out of. It was crazy cold and I had never run outside in the cold before, nor did I train properly. I did end up coming in fourth from last, but I didn’t quit!!!

I will tell you that there is nothing like paying for a race and NOT finishing that makes you think. It’s only been a week, but I’ve kept up with my running plan. I’ve not fallen victim to my usual various excuses. I find myself actually wanting to get out there and run. I know, however, it’s like anything else – I have to keep at it because I know an excuse one night, will turn into excuses night after night, until I’m right back where I was – faced with a race and feeling woefully unprepared. No worries – chin up. I’m going to do this. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Fresh Running Motivation

  1. I always think these things happen for a reason, and there’s nothing wrong with dropping out. Maybe you needed to do it on the 10K to realise just how much you want this? If you can bank that feeling and call on it the next time you feel like you’ve hit a wall, or even when you think about skipping a training run, it won’t happen again. You are doing this, no matter what your brain tries to tell you! 😉
    Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Darlene, I’m banishing them as I type. The trick is to not let them wiggle their way back in! 🙂 I will do my best to finish. I’m on a mission now not to let it happen again any time soon! 🙂 Thanks so much for the support! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

