Woke Up in a Panic

Not sure why, but I woke up in such a panic last night. I’m not sure why, it wasn’t a race day. In fact, I have a whole week before I actually run my first race since February. Last night I was poking around the website trying to find out some information on package pick-up or pacing. I’ve been running, more than I have in the past, in fact, but for some reason I’m feeling unprepared for next weekend’s race. I finally found the pacing requirements that said it’s a 15 minute mile pace for the 10K. What’s interesting is that the race starts at 9:00 and the bag claim closes at 10:30, basically you have zero wiggle room. I know I can do it, but I don’t know why this has set me in a panic, perhaps that despite the fact that I run every day…this 10K will be my longest distance since the half marathon back in February.

Fortunately I’ve calmed down since this morning. I read somewhere that even elite runners sometimes panic before a race. I’m not sure it that’s true, but it certainly makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

