Grandma’s Run, I Won

Sometimes there are those days when I want to run, but I get home from work and excuses start setting in… “Not today,” I said.

So which run will it be? Outside in the high 90’s or inside in the gym? Gym. Empty, just how I like it and I step, step mind you, not jump onto the treadmill for my planned work out. Today’s workout was supposed to consist of two minutes at an incline at pace, followed by 2 minutes running.

Five minutes into the workout I get a sharp pain in my left ankle, to the point where I can’t put any weight on my foot. Literally none… I slam the stop button and try to stretch it out…start again at a slow walk…nope…stop the treadmill, roll my ankle around a bit, still can’t put any weight on it. By this point panic is setting in – I’ve already paid for the Princess Half Marathon, I can’t afford an injury right now – I’m not that far along in my training. NONONONONONO!!! Try it again, no go. I stand there for about 10 minutes tapping my foot on the floor, I’m going to give it one more try. A slow walk and it’s taking my weight, a little faster, a little faster – victory! Running!   The pain was gone. Not sure what it was, but whatever it was, it was gone…I didn’t do the three miles I intended, only managed a little over 1 ½ miles, but that’s OK, I didn’t want to push my luck. I did a little more leg work on the machines and called it day after 45 minutes. Yes, I panicked. Yes, I almost gave up, but it seems like the devil finally said…”aww never mind, go for it!” and I did! Today, grandma won!

One thought on “Grandma’s Run, I Won

  1. Back in the day as a manager, I’d take my running gear to work with me, change at the end of the day and run before I got home, because with four kids and all the commitments that come with it, I never knew what I’d face once inside the front door. I’ve run through a lot of injuries in my day, but make sure you do rest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

