KT Tape and Running

KT TAPE

If you’re just joining me on my journey, you probably missed the story of the excruciating muscle cramps I experienced in last year’s Disney Princess Half-Marathon.  During the Disney Princess Half-Marathon 2014, I visited the KT tape booth. KT Tape is short for Kinesiology Tape used for common sports injuries.  They offered a complimentary taping so I had them tape my foot for plantar fasciitis (long time sufferer, but a story for another time). That year, I also bought a lovely pink roll of KT tape that pretty much sat on my dresser for 12 months. My foot was fine during the race, but my legs were devastated (or were my legs sore and I devastated?)  To make a long story short, I wanted to cry starting at mile 8. I did, however, manage to finish the race.

Fast forward to Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend 2015…about two months before the half, I started to feel those familiar muscle cramp surges in my legs – not quite a full blown cramp, but it felt as if there was the possibility that it might cramp with the slightest movement. Was it real or imaginary? I knew it was probably all in my head, but hey with only one half-marathon under my belt, experience tends to speak for itself. I brought my roll to Florida with me, but also stopped at the KT tape booth this year for another complimentary taping. That’s when I thought, “hey, I’m reasonably smart, I should be able to do this myself.”

Armed with my Smartphone and my tablet, I watched as many KT Tape videos on YouTube as possible.  I was determined not to have a repeat of last year, even if it meant making a KT Tape leg cast. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a hypochondriac and no where near a KT Tape application expert, but I managed to tape my other calf, the top of my foot (I had a hairline fracture shortly after the last half when I dropped a dresser on it…again a story for another time), my small toe (did you know the KT tape video for a jammed finger works well here?), my knee from that old athletic injury…by the time I finished, I was practically covered from knee to toe in pretty pink tape.

Success!  Laugh at me if you will, but it worked. I didn’t experience a single cramp or pain in any of those areas. In fact, the ONLY place that did hurt was the one place I didn’t tape… my ankle! Go figure… As always, it’s important for me to learn a lesson. Lesson number one, don’t engage in two Disney park heavy walking days before a half marathon. We managed to cover almost 13 miles a day just walking. Lesson number two, YouTube is your friend. Lesson number three, don’t be afraid to experiment – do what you need to do in order to be successful.

Leave a Reply

