Disney Princess Half Marathon 2015 – PR and Highlights

2015 Disney Princess Half Marathon

I can’t believe it has taken me almost a week to blog about my experiences this year at the 2015 Disney Princess Half Marathon weekend. I had such a good time and there has been so much going on. Needless to say I’m most excited about setting a new PR…this of course from the woman who said she didn’t care about setting PR’s and I “just wanted to finish.”  Well I did finish, even if it was only a few steps ahead of the balloon ladies. My highlights from the race?

I FINISHED!  This is probably the most important highlight of them all.  After a year of injury and slacking (I know I did. My slacking resulted in my being in corral O, a downgrade from last year’s corral N). I managed to finish with a time of 3:40. Sounds slow doesn’t it? Well it’s definitely faster than when I was sitting on the couch doing nothing AND it’s faster than my “inaugural” Princess Half Marathon last year (by 6 minutes and this is even with stopping this time).

I stopped at least twice on the course this year. While one stop was unintentional due to the runner back up at Cinderella’s castle that cost me at least 5 minutes. The second stop was when I actually left the course to go to a restroom when I got to Frontierland in the Magic Kingdom. I figured I could finish faster if my mind wasn’t on the need to stop at a porta-potty. It’s so hard to concentrate when you gotta go.

In the days following the race, I wasn’t nearly as sore as I was last year.  Last year, I nearly cried every time I stood up or sat down.  I was sore this year, but not the pain of a thousand knives dicing through my joints. I guess that is proof that I did do a bit of training this year.

Needless to say this year was amazing and I do have a lot more to share over the next few days and weeks, up to half marathon number 3 in February 2016. This is a highlight in itself. Last year, I vowed never to “do this again.”  Guess what? I’m already planning half-marathon number three!

8 thoughts on “Disney Princess Half Marathon 2015 – PR and Highlights

  1. Congratulations! That’s awesome and a PB to be very proud of! Massive well done to you and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed it so much you’re already planning the next one. You are an absolute star! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. And so you should – you have a lot to be proud of! There will always be someone faster (unless you come first of course) and the most important thing is that you are enjoying it. Happy running! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

