Grandma’s Weight Training

Weights

The experts say it’s a good idea to cross-train so I thought I would give weights a whirl. It’s not that I’ve never used weights before (or is the proper term “lifted weights”), but I decided to officially add it to my “prepping for half-marathon” exercise plan.  I know when you hear me talking about weight lifting, you’re probably picturing the buff men and women at the gym, but I assure you the picture of me lifting weights is entirely different.

So to set the stage for you… in the comfort of my own home, with my favorite I Love Lucy DVD playing (California, Here We Come), I broke out the weights. No, no, no, not the mega-weights, but a rather respectable pair of 5 lbs. and 8 lbs. weights.

Here was my weight training plan for today (keep in mind, this is just me paraphrasing the movements):

One arm dumbbell row – One leg forward with knee bent, pull dumbbell upward and back until it touches the hip.

Kickbacks – This one is almost the same as the one above, but bending the elbow 90 degrees and straightening the elbow until the arm is fully extended.

Stiff-legged dead lift – Feet apart with weights in each hand, bend forward until you feel a hamstring stretch, straighten back up.

Dumbbell Chest Press – Lie on floor with weights in each hand and arms at 90 degrees, lift weights until arms are straight.

Goblet Squat – Feet shoulder width apart, hold dumbbells in both hands and squat (just make sure you can get back up – they failed to add that line).

Plank – On elbows, lift torso. Body (SHOULD) form one long line. The pictures make it look so easy! Hold it for 45 seconds (I only managed 3 sets of 20 seconds).

The goal is to do six to 15 repetitions for each exercise and then two to three sets of those six to 15 repetitions.

The book said it would be a 15 minute work-out. Obviously the person who put this little ditty together didn’t take into account the grandma recovery period between each set and the fact that there would be a grandson running underfoot.  All in all, I must say I’m feeling accomplished. Sore, but accomplished. Good think my family loaded up my BioFreeze supply for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

