A Day of No Running

For a while I was thinking a more proper title would be called “A Day of Guilt for not Running Yesterday”. The RunDisney countdown clock shows me that there are only 43 days: 13 hours; 55 minutes: 55, no 54, no 53 (you get the point) seconds left until Disney Princess Half-Marathon weekend, one would think that I would be out there running every day to build up my endurance. In fact, if I let it, panic sets in every time I think about the weekend and remembering those ultra-cramps from last February.

The truth is this; however, everybody deserves a day of rest. In fact, us Grandma’s need to make sure we are not only getting in proper training, but we also need to realize (as difficult as it may be) that we are not in our 20’s anymore. We need to give our bodies a chance to recover. Does this mean that we should just sit with our feet up every other day? Absolutely not! Cross-training is just as important – weightlifting or a different kind of cardio works. In fact, we should probably try to sneak in a bit of exercise wherever/whenever we can. I didn’t run yesterday, but I spent a lot of time dancing to some great oldies – Michael Jackson’s Working Day and Night. Boyz II Men Motown Philly… just those two songs alone made me feel like I ran a 5K, I also did some stair climbing at home. Totally free workouts!

So bottom line, a day of no running isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It all depends on how you handle it!

2 thoughts on “A Day of No Running

Leave a Reply

