Do You Pay to Race

The proof of time is due by December 1, 2014 for the 2015 Disney Princess Half-Marathon. I must admit it did send me into a bit of panic as I realized that I had not actually ran a timed-10K as I planned and the deadline is a month away. I’ve done plenty of 5K’s, but no timed-10k. How is it possible I completed a half-marathon and numerous 5K’s,  without a 10K in the mix?  Now as the clock ticks nearer to the deadline, I find myself frantically searching for a timed-10K race that is within driving distance to where I live. In fact, I was actually so desperate, I was willing to drive three hours to get to New Jersey to take part in the Biggest Loser Race. This was until I logged in and saw the race was actually tomorrow. Needless to say, a search of Active and other race sites were not producing the most fruitful results for November events I was hoping for.

As usual, when I’m working on a particularly time-sensitive task, my mind wonders. I was out to dinner with a friend talking about running. She said, she doesn’t pay to race, period. She runs, but she doesn’t believe in spending money on something she could do for free. I must admit it caused me to pause for a moment and even now as I was desperately searching for a race to spend my money on so I can get in a better corral at a race I had already spent my money on, I had to ponder.

Why do I race? I’m not really sure. What I can say, however, is that I enjoy it. Sure, it’s nice when I complete my own personal 5K’s or further, but there is something about the validation of setting a goal to cross a finish line. Sure, there are so many other things I could spend money on, but I don’t think it’s a waste. To some, they may think of it as paying $25 – $60 on a t-shirt that I’ll hardly wear, but you know…we get one go around. Pick your poison, so to speak, mine is running in a race.

Leave a Reply

