Second Half Marathon – 136 Days and Counting

What a sluggish month (or three)! I meant to hop back on my training plan a month ago when I turned 5(something) years old. It’s amazing how quickly time goes by. I have not written, my running has been sporadic, none of which bodes well for the woman that nearly dropped out during her first half marathon last February due to excruciating leg cramps around mile 10.

As I lounged in bed around 6:30 a.m. this morning, I decided to take a look at the Disney clock. What? 136 days until the start of Disney Princess Weekend! I could just sit here and continue to talk about “tomorrow” or today I can start to get back on track (no pun intended).

While I know that I can count on my family and friends to motivate and help keep me on track, the ultimate motivation comes from me. I think it’s time to get that vision board going, after all I’ve only got 136 days to my next half marathon weekend (and counting).

Plus it gives me the opportunity to where some of those nifty cold weather running shirts I bought on clearance last year.

6 thoughts on “Second Half Marathon – 136 Days and Counting

  1. Thanks Jim, so true…a year ago, I never would have imagined myself here. Persistence and motivation, even on a bad day! 🙂 More importantly, congratulations on your newest grandchild!

    Like

  2. Now you’ve got it, Grandma! Sometimes you have to kick yourself off the sofa and lace up those running shoes, and in my experience most times you won’t be sorry you did. Look at it this way – it’s wasn’t long ago you were intimidated by the 5K, now you are preparing for a half-marathon. So what if you had leg cramps your first half-marathon, you finished! And that’s what it’s all about. Lining up and going the distance. Good luck, you will be the happiest Grandma on earth when you cross the finish line.
    ps… I’m expecting my fourth grandchild within the next week or two.
    Be well,
    jim

    Like

  3. 136 days… ~ 4.5 months… you’ve got this! I just finished my first half two weeks ago, the Mighty Niagara. We trained well and it was a fantastic, fun run. Just think about how good you’ll feel after your run… Helps me get out the door on tough days. Good Luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

