Nothing Wrong with a 5K Walk

Image

Have you ever been in this situation? You start the day with a fantastic plan in mind…a run at the end of the day.  I was actually quite proud of myself.  After getting dressed for work, I grabbed my Run Like a Mother bag, filled it with the essentials – my favorite sneakers, some socks, my favorite running shorts and my Color Me Rad t-shirt (a little motivation from my last race). Ready!

The first item I had to check off my list was going to the job. It really wasn’t a bad day, no meetings, no interviews…For a quick moment; I was finally all caught up with everything from recruiting to FMLA requests. Not bad, not bad…When you have a day like that, the mantra just gets stronger… “I will run after work today. I will not go home. I will go straight to the track. I will not be defeated”, but sometime during the day the strong passion can occasionally fade a bit.

Defeat is such a strong word and it can often take on so many forms.  Sometimes it’s excuses…it is 100 degrees out here, OK it was only 87, but it felt like a 100, which sounded like a better excuse. I forgot my hat.  Really? Really? Who uses a hat as an excuse? I think I just did.

Home…  Home could not, would not be my final destination. All my plans…chanting my mantra, no, I have to go the track. The bottom line is that sometimes you have to accept the fact that it’s not going to be the best run. Sometimes you have to accept the fact that you just can’t do it, but you can’t give up. I could have gone home and stayed, but I didn’t.  It might not even have been a run today, but sometimes just getting out the door is the prize.  One step closer to my Disney Half. Sometimes there is nothing wrong with a 5K walk.

 

2 thoughts on “Nothing Wrong with a 5K Walk

  1. Good job! Thanks for the motivation! Pretty sure I’ve used “I can’t find a matching sock” as an excuse to skip a run. 🙂 No running for me today, but I took several laps around California Adventure. Finished that off with a salad…and a nap. Alarm is set for a run tomorrow.

    Like

    1. Disney! Heavy sigh…definitely my happy place! You’re still supposed to be taking it easy I do believe. I don’t want to have to write about – “when amazing runners don’t listen to their doctors”…LOL… I’m actually on day 3 of the 30 day salad challenge! Take it easy on the runs, there are some big ones coming up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

