30 Days of Inactivity, But Who’s Counting?

The answer, I am.  In fact, I know it’s probably been more than thirty days, but that is all I’m about to admit to. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t total inactivity.  It was the flu, the planter fasciitis and a host of other ailments, but really the biggest excuse was more like – laziness. Who can take time to be lazy when they have their first, and hopefully not last, half marathon hanging over their head?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying “hanging” in the negative sense. More like, what a triumph it will be when I cross the finish line. 

What I do know, however, is that the exercise plan, or lack thereof in the last thirty days isn’t going to get me where I need to be.  Flu aside, hurt foot move aside, I need to get back on the ball with slightly larger than baby steps.

Step one – tonight sixty minutes of Zumba that included an entire song doing squats.  A second song where it seemed like every other move involved doing twenty something jumping jacks. Talk about going zero to sixty.  What I do know is that it feels good to sweat. What I also know is that you may not be counting, but I am and the countdown has begun in earnest.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Inactivity, But Who’s Counting?

  1. I recently experienced playing in a charity basketball game after not playing the game for almost three years. Bulging disks, twenty pounds extra under my basketball uni and knowing my mind – to – ball skills are still stuck in my mind, the closest I got to training was heavy stretching for a week prior and “shooting” and passing with a medicine ball. My game was horrendous and I’m scheduled to play again in February. Hmmmm, do you think watching more basketball will get me ready? Or maybe I try the Zimbabwe thing….. Your plan might yield more results than mine, keep at it, I’m sure your running partners will appreciate it.

    Like

    1. You’re too funny. 🙂 So how did you do in the game? chuckles…. I’m sure with a little more time, you’ll be ready for February as well. I found that watching Zumba and Shaun-T wasn’t exactly getting me where I needed to be either. Interestingly enough, as sore as I THOUGHT I would be this morning, I’m feeling pretty good and inspired….and yes, I’m sure they would appreciate not having one of the group being picked up by the little truck, by not being able to keep pace. Yes the mind and the body are not always in agreement. My mind says 20, but the body is saying….no, no, nope… I’ll get there though. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

