Making Lunchtime – Running Time

The last couple of nights I have found myself absolutely dragging when I got home from work. A full mind-bending day at work, followed by household activities including; groceries, straightening up (notice I didn’t even say cleaning), and fulfilling family needs often leave precious little time  or even the desire to exercise.  I read that one of the worst mistakes you can make is to go straight home after work instead of going directly to work out. Sometimes as psyched as I am about running, it’s been a hectic month at work.  Finding the balance between work and running is absolutely part of my journey.

Today I thought I would try something new, for me anyway. I decided to go to the employee gym to run on the treadmill at lunch, especially since the outside temperature went from the 50’s to the 80’s in less than a day. The good thing about the gym at lunch time is that there are very few people there at 1:00 in the afternoon.  In fact, there was only one guy dressed in jeans working on the Elliptical (it did look mighty uncomfortable). Perfect!

I was able to get in 30 minutes of my walk/run before I decided I needed to wrap it up to get back to the office in time for a  2:30 meeting.  Unfortunately in my excitement of getting the gym bag ready this morning, there were a few essential items discovered missing.  The nature of this oversight, however, required me to run home to take a shower since the thought of putting on certain sweaty garments was absolutely appalling.

The upside is that I found an overwhelming amount of energy to get through the rest of the afternoon. I was also able to go home at the end of the day ready to tackle some serious housecleaning, OK perhaps serious straigtening would be closer to the truth.  The downside? I haven’t found it yet, but I will definitely share should anything surface.

Leave a Reply

