First Run

ImageNot really a “first” , but that’s what it felt like.  Not the first run ever, but today I put on my sneakers to run for the first time since the half marathon on February 23.  When I got home, I looked at the calendar and realized that today was March 23. Somehow, it felt like an appropriate day to have a first run.

Procrastination….Yes I admit that I vowed to begin my running again on March 15th, but you know how it is (or feel free to pretend to not), I’ll do it “tomorrow”.  Day after day, I kept saying, “tomorrow.”  I always felt like I had great excuse. No, the pain will come back.  No, I need a new pair of sneakers. No, I don’t have time to pack a bag to run after work.  Funny enough, they sounded good at the time, but they really did nothing to alleviate the guilt I was inwardly feeling.

Today – I don’t know what sparked me to go out for a “first” run. I must admit that the bed was tempting. It was soft, warm, comfortable and safe. Tomorrow sounded like a good idea, after all – I just got my Jeff Galloway Running Journal yesterday and IT starts on Monday.

Reflections – I want to run. I enjoy the time to think. I want to be in better shape. As I lay in bed remembering the fun of the Disney weekend, I remember how good it felt walking through the parks congratulating medal winners and for the first time having my own half marathon medal around my neck.

Results – I didn’t go out for time or distance and it was only 2.5 miles. I went out to enjoy the moment and get started toward that awesome feeling. No pain… no problems, first run.

About diawalker

Join my journey. I’m a young-at-heart, grandma who decided to start my journey to running my first full marathon exactly a year after turning 50 years old and first 5K. I’m well on my way to earning my super-grandmother cape. I work full-time in the Human Resources field, serve as president of HRA-NCA (a local SHRM chapter), write two sites and serve as the Launch Manager for BellaOnline.com. I’m also a single mom of three fantastic kids and recently became a grandmother – that’s all in my spare time. I recently decided to take up running. Join me on my journey as I prepare to run a half marathon.

Posted on March 23, 2014, in Marathons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I feel ya on the procrastination. You did better than I, because I didn’t run for st least four months after my half!! But, boy, it feels so good to get out there again, doesn’t it? Here’s to spring running season!!! The Gma’s git it covered!!

    • LOL…you definitely made me feel so better…oh the guilt! Part of me feels like I was in shock. It feels truly awesome! I’m looking forward to running and getting ready for my next. While my goal is next February, I kind of want to do the Jeff Galloway 1/2 in Georgia. Yes..yes… running gma’s are incredible. Nothing can stop us!

Leave a Reply

The Blog Runner

from couch to 5k and then...

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Chatter Gets Fit

From Couch Potato to Triathlete... My Journey

davetriing

Discovering Health, Life, and Self Through Triathlon

Casual Running

Inspiring YOU to run at YOUR full potential.

Fly With Nate

Create A Tailor-Made Lifestyle

notmuchofarunner

Random thoughts and running shorts...

Rite 2 Run

Run, Hike, Cycle; and Never Look Back

Running Jules

Runs, cooks, changes nappies, writes

runslikeelephant

I run like an elephant but damn it, I'm running!

TartanJogger

Adventures in very slow running

The Dog With The Broken Ear

It's not just about the dog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

