Who are the Balloon Ladies?

As time drawers nearer to the Disney Princess Half Marathon, nerves are starting to set in. (HA….as though I haven’t had them for the past year).  Have I trained enough? I surely haven’t posted enough.  Hopefully my posting frequency, or lack thereof, won’t be an indication of my performance in the Disney Half Marathon in less than twelve days. 

Back to the immediate question at hand, however.  Those balloon ladies…who are they?  If you’re like me, you read up on everything you can about a race. Are there any surprises? What are the other runners saying?  Well for the Disney Princess Half Marathon, the biggest buzz is about the infamous balloon ladies.  After the last runner has crossed the starting line, these “balloon ladies” (so aptly named for the big balloons they will have tied around their waist), will step over the start line and begin the required 16 mile per hour pacing.  If you can’t stay ahead of these ladies, the current (or next) mile might be your last.  Can’t keep up and you may get picked up by “the bus” and driven to the finish line.  Terror!

Riding  the “bus of shame”? This thought alone is enough to spark fear in any novice half marathon runner.  I’ve taken heart, however, I’ve read that the volunteers on the bus make it as easy as possible for you as you wallow in whatever emotions you might be feeling…shame for not finishing…berating yourself for lack of training….or happiness because you couldn’t run one more step.

Balloon ladies or not, I have a goal. My goal is to finish – preferably without ever seeing the balloon ladies, but time will tell, however, as we begin the last count down toward – grandma running a half marathon.

About diawalker

Join my journey. I’m a young-at-heart, grandma who decided to start my journey to running my first full marathon exactly a year after turning 50 years old and first 5K. I’m well on my way to earning my super-grandmother cape. I work full-time in the Human Resources field, serve as president of HRA-NCA (a local SHRM chapter), write two sites and serve as the Launch Manager for BellaOnline.com. I’m also a single mom of three fantastic kids and recently became a grandmother – that’s all in my spare time. I recently decided to take up running. Join me on my journey as I prepare to run a half marathon.

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Marathons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You have got this. Consistency is the key. Start strong and finish strong, but most importantly enjoy it!!

  2. I can’t believe this is a week away! You’ve done all the hard work, so relax and enjoy the experience. Grandmas unite!

    Oh, if you are still reading about the race, check out the “margaritasmilesandmouse” blog. She has a virtual blog hop about all aspects of the Princess half.

    • Thanks! I know! Exciting! I will definitely check out that blog. Thanks for the info! Many of them have been very informational AND informative. Can’t wait! See ya’ next week!

  3. It’s not the goal that is the most important – it’s the path. It may be rough, may be easy, may be so interesting that you even wish your goal was a little further. There’s no such thing as “bus of shame”, that’s bus of “people, who will try again”. Good luck, I’m sure you have enjoyed your path and will enjoy your complete goal.

    • You are so right and the journey this far has been hard (it should be), but absolutely wonderful! I think everyone on that bus should be congratulated and considered amazing for even stepping over that starting line. Trying again, absolutely!

  4. Grandma- we are so proud of you and how far you’ve come! I have no doubt that you will rock this half and will enjoy every minute of it :)

Leave a Reply

Renea Mason

Visit http://reneamason.com for the latest info on Renea Mason

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Chatter Gets Fit

From Couch Potato to Triathlete... My Journey

davetriing

Discovering Health, Life, and Self Through Triathlon

Casual Running

Inspiring YOU to run at YOUR full potential.

Fly With Nate

Create A Tailor-Made Lifestyle

MORGAN GETS FIT

Focusing my life on getting healthy, losing weight, and running forever!

notmuchofarunner

Random thoughts and running shorts...

Rite 2 Run

Run, Hike, Cycle; and Never Look Back

Running Jules

Runs, cooks, changes nappies, writes

runslikeelephant

I run like an elephant but damn it, I'm running!

TartanJogger

Adventures in very slow running

The Dog With The Broken Ear

It's not just about the dog

The Half Mad Half Marathoner

We're all Mad Here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

