My Silly Running “Ah-ha” Moment

f1d53c85d4a8632c62189ffb3b75011bI have to chuckle at myself this week. Sometimes it’s necessary that we take a light-hearted look at ourselves. It’s the moments when we think we are feeling our age (like when I just found out another gem on the Nike+ app), or the moments we realize there is a reason for whatever we are feeling or going through.  This morning about 1:30 AM, I had a major “ah-ha” moment.

It’s funny when I think about.  Every night (and I do mean every night) this week I’ve been waking up two or three times a night.  The first step on floor would evoke pain. I’d limp to the bathroom (TMI) or kitchen, convinced that there was something wrong with me. My muscles ached, every joint felt like it was shifted out of place. “I can’t do this anymore,” I said to myself. “Obviously I can’t run, I’m ill.” I was well on my way to convincing myself that I needed to go see a doctor who would tell me what illness I was suffering from.   As I crawled back to bed each night, I was determined that I was going to hang up my new running shoes, give up on my hopes of running a half-marathon.

As I struggled back to bed this morning, I stole a quick glance at my calendar. On each day was a bright colored sticky indicating the days I ran.  What I noticed is that I had actually run 4 out of the past 5 days. It wasn’t a fatal disease, claiming my body muscles. It was the drama queen in me over-reacting. I was just sore from all the running! I realized I wasn’t getting old at the speed of light and I certainly wasn’t developing a fatal disease – I was adjusting to being up off the couch more often.  Running, you gotta love it!

About diawalker

Join my journey. I’m a young-at-heart, grandma who decided to start my journey to running my first full marathon exactly a year after turning 50 years old and first 5K. I’m well on my way to earning my super-grandmother cape. I work full-time in the Human Resources field, serve as president of HRA-NCA (a local SHRM chapter), write two sites and serve as the Launch Manager for BellaOnline.com. I’m also a single mom of three fantastic kids and recently became a grandmother – that’s all in my spare time. I recently decided to take up running. Join me on my journey as I prepare to run a half marathon.

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Too funny!! But that is hardcore, girl!! Keep gettin it!

  2. Don’t you just love those moments? 4 out of 5 days? You put my training to shame. I should probably try the stickers. I get one today!

Leave a Reply

Casual Running

Inspiring YOU to run at YOUR full potential.

Fly With Nate

Create A Tailor-Made Lifestyle

The Half Mad Half Marathoner

We're all Mad Here!

Carlos Escobar

HR. OD. COMMUNICATION. other things.

TartanJogger

Adventures in very slow running

Rite 2 Run

Run to the Stars, and Circle the Universe

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

The Improbable Runner

I know what you're thinking, just what the world needs! Peace in the Middle East, a clean energy source and another running blog. Yes I am a distance runner. Not the kind that runs streaks, owns a lycra onesie or does plyometric warm ups in the middle of street. You know, the slow kind. This blog aims to help newbies looking to navigate around the potholes

Running Jules

Runs, cooks, changes nappies, writes

MORGAN GETS FIT

Focusing my life on getting healthy, losing weight, and running forever!

notmuchofarunner

Random thoughts and running shorts...

Chatter Gets Fit

From Couch Potato to Triathlete... My Journey

getoutamyhead

So many things to say, so little time!

davetriing

Discovering Health, Life, and Self Through Triathlon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

